Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party

I’ll admit, as much a I love Harry Potter, this was second on my list of things I was looking forward too. There was one main reason for this. Hocus Pocus! I LOVE Hocus Pocus (who doesn’t?!) and when I found out the Sanderson sisters were performing the show this year, there was no way I could miss it.

This event was pricey, I won’t lie, but it was definitely worth it, for several candyreasons.

  1. All the rides are open! Ok, well maybe not all, but a good portion and with such low crowds, none were more than a 20 minute wait. (Except Peter Pan. That thing is ALWAYS busy.)
  2. CANDY! You get candy! It doesn’t matter how old you are, if you have kids, or what you’re wearing, everyone is welcome to Trick-or-Treat. And the candy wasn’t some generic junk either, all name brand sweets.
  3. The shows. The “Boo to You” parade, Sanderson sister’s “Hocus Pocus Villain Spelltacular,” and “Hallowishes” fireworks show were alone worth the cash. They were phenomenal and very well done.

Some highlights from the night

  1. The Sanderson Sisters show was amazing! The actors were Midler, Nijemy, and Parker reincarnated. ESPECIALLY the one playing Winifred. She had the voice, the look, and the mannerisms down perfect. It was astounding. The show was great too, and I got to sing along to “I Put a Spell on You,” at  a Halloween party, with the Sanderson sisters! To say I was excited is an understatement.snow white
  2. Snow White’s Seven Dwarves Mine Train: I’ve never been able to ride the Snow White ride because it was always under construction when I went. Sadness. Until last Monday! And can I just say, it is THE smoothest coaster I have ever ridden. Not a bump, not a jerk, not even a sound as it flew around corners, banks, and down hills. The effects were great and the queue was fun! I understand now why it always has such a long wait!
  3. My poison apple: my sister-in-law posted a picture on my timeline of a drink vessel shaped like the poison apple from SnoPASpump132443w White. (In case it was ever in question, I love Snow White!) The picture also included an apple crisp sundae in the cup, which was saddening as I am allergic to apples. Thinking it would go to waste and I wouldn’t get my cup, Joe surprised me with a cup full of soda, all in a poisoned apple cup. YES! Also…it glows in the dark.

A few tidbitsJoe castle

  1. There were A LOT of Star Wars costumes out there! All sorts. In truth, I saw more female Han Solo’s than I expected, and several Star Wars families. Also too many whoopie cushions. That was weird.
  2. When one is wearing a blue skirt with red blood stripes, a white button up shirt, black boots and a black vest, one is often mistaken for a Disney employee. To answer all the questions, no I do not know where the magnets are, no I do not know which candy station is the best, and yes I do know what direction the Haunted Mansion is.
  3. Speaking of the Haunted Mansion, LOVE that the cast gets into it! All dressed up, fog everywhere, and spooky additions to the graveyard.

front of castle

I would completely recommend this event to anyone, with kids or not! My parents, Joseph and I had a blast and with no kids of our own. While we couldn’t get through everything in one night (we still had half the candy stations we never made it to,) it was well worth the $60 a piece price tag. If you get the chance to go, you should! It really is a magical experience and, to be honest, seemed more magical to me than a regular day at the parks. But then, I love Halloween!

Leave a Reply

