Making Fantastic Beasts

Or How the World of Harry Potter won me Cash

Back in November J.K. Rowling and Warner Brother Studios released the movie Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them. Scholastic of course was hot on their heels, incorporating the hit film into their issue of Scholastic Magazine. Now being the huge HP fan that I am, I couldn’t let the chance to bring the world of Fantastic Beasts into my science class pass me by.

So my 5th grade science students made their own Fantastic Beasts. They were responsible for creating their beast, telling us where they came from, what adaptations they had and so on. I even wrote a cute little cover letter from Newt Scamander himself introducing the project! (Check the link below for a PDF of the introduction letter and rubric.)

fantastic-beasts-project

After that, Scholastic announced a contest, where teachers could submit a 30 second video of how they used FB&WTFT in their classroom and possibly win a $100 gift card. My first thought was

YES! I can totally do this! I could even win!

My second thought was

Wait…how do I explain a week long project with so many pieces in just 30 seconds?!

But I managed to do it, and at EXACTLY 30 seconds.

My 30 Second Submission Video

Somehow I won and walked away with a $100 gift card. HOW AWESOME IS THAT?! Now I can officially say that Harry Potter won me money. Of course I could easily spend that much on butterbeer but that’s a different story 🙂

If you’d like to see some of the awesome beasts completed by some of my students, please check out the slideshow below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

